Healthy Carrot Muffins

Hope everyone had a great Canada Day… I know I did! We had a little sleep-in, and then enjoyed these delicious muffins in bed with some fruit and coffee. In the afternoon Greg and I went downtown to check out all the festivities at the inner harbor in Victoria. Once we got tired of walking we went to a matinee movie which I hadn’t done since about middle school! It was a nice way to break up the day and get out of the sun for a little while. We finally capped off the night watching the fireworks from the comfort of our home. Couldn’t get a great view, but decided it was much better than battling the enormous crowds downtown.

Now for those of you who know we open the Passion Sports store on Thursday, your probably thinking it might seem a little silly to open on Thursday and then be closed the following day for a holiday. But let me tell you, it couldn’t have come at a better time. After all the long days and hard work that went into it the past 2 months, I think we were all in need of one day to recuperate. But we are open once again today and I encourage everyone to come check it out!

I decided to make these carrot muffins because earlier in the week Greg asked why I never make carrot cake. I didn’t have a good answer for him because I LOVE carrot cake and muffins but just never think to make them. So when I found this recipe I knew I had to make them asap. That is when I realized why they are not a recurring item in our house… Do you know how long it takes to grate carrots?! Not to mention you need SO many of them. It took me so long to grate them I began to question why anyone makes carrot anything. Ever. It’s only once you taste them fresh from the oven that you fully understand that all the effort is so worth it. So I’ll stop complaining now and just enjoy the deliciousness.

Healthy Carrot Muffins
Adapted from Redsie05

2 cups of all-purpose flour
3/4 cup of sugar
2 tsp of baking soda
2 tsp of cinnamon
1/4 tsp of salt
2 cups of carrots, shredded
3/4 cup of raisins
1/4 cup of unsweetened coconut (I used sweetened because it’s all I had)
1 apple, peeled and grated
3 eggs
1 cup of vegetable oil
2 tsp of vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line 12 muffin cups with paper liners.

In a large bowl mix together the flour through salt. Add the carrot, raisins, coconut, and apple, mix well. In a separate bowl stir together the eggs through vanilla. Add the wet mixture to the dry and stir until just moistened. Do not over stir. Scoop batter into prepared muffin pan. Bake for about 22 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.  Cool for a few minutes and enjoy! Store the leftover in an airtight container for up to 3 days. You could also wrap individually and store in the freezer (ours didn’t even last that long though!).

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

