Strawberry Banana Loaf

I am a sorry excuse of a blogger. Seriously. I made this recipe last week some time. So long ago now that I can’t even remember exactly what day it was. But regardless, it was made and long since disappeared. But I promise to do better from here on out! And I think I can say that truthfully now because we are just days away from opening our new store! A long time in the making it seems (and hopefully I won’t be exhausted at the end of every day).

So now I am officially vowing to never pick up another paint brush again. I have done more painting than any ordinary person should do in a life time. And let me tell you, I seriously question the sanity of those who choose to do it as a profession…But I will leave it in their capable hands the next time something needs a fresh coat. On the bright side, I did start my half marathon training this morning and I’m pretty excited about it. 6 km this morning didn’t even hurt as much as a thought it would. One day down, only 111 left to go. Maybe I won’t start a countdown yet…  A little too intimidating. Oh yeah! Check out our website www.PassionSports.ca if you can’t make it down to the store.

Strawberry Banana Loaf
Adapted from Joy the Baker

3/4 cup of butter
2 cups of flour
3/4 cup of brown sugar
1 tsp of baking soda
1/2 tsp of salt
3/4 tsp of cinnamon
2 eggs
1 tsp of vanilla
1/2 cup of plain yogurt
2 bananas, mashed
1/2 cup of strawberries, diced plus 2 strawberries thinly sliced

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan, set aside.

Melt butter on the stove over medium heat. Once melted, stir until browned and has a nutty smell to it. Be careful not to burn it. Remove from heat and transfer butter to another bowl to cool. In a large bowl mix together the flour through cinnamon. In another bowl whisk together the eggs through yogurt. Add the bananas and stir well. Once cooled, add the butter to this mixture as well. Mix the wet ingredients into the dry and fold gently to combine. Mix in the diced strawberries. Spoon batter into loaf pan and top with thinly sliced strawberries. Bake for about 1 hour or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Let sit for 10 minutes then remove to a wire rack to cool completely.

 


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

