Halibut Fish Tacos

Continuing on with my Mexican obsession, because it has clearly not dissipated, I decided to make fish tacos tonight for dinner. This past weekend I consumed more than my fair share of margaritas, and so I felt like making something healthy and a little on the lighter side. I love tacos, obviously, but I have never attempted to make them of the fish variety myself. I’ve eaten enough of them in the past (hello Red Fish Blue Fish!), so I had a general idea of what I wanted my own to consist of, and the types of fillings that would make them perfect.

I was surprised but how little effort and time was required to make something so great. All the ingredients were so fresh and definitely noticeable. I will for sure be adding this one to my repertoire of go-to recipes.

Halibut Fish Tacos
Inspired from Guilty Kitchen

Guacamole 
1 ripe avacado
1/2 a ripe tomato, diced
Juice of half a lime
salt and pepper to taste

Peel avacado and use a fork to mash in a bowl. Add the tomato, lime juice, salt and pepper. Combine well and set aside.

Fish Taco Sauce
1/4 cup of sour cream
1/4 cup of light mayo
Juice of half a lime
1/4 tsp of cumin
1/4 tsp of ground coriander
A sprinkle of fresh dill

Combine sour cream and mayo in a bowl, using a whisk to stir well. Add the lime juice through dill, mix well and put in the fridge until ready to eat.

Fish Tacos
1 tbsp of butter
1 tbsp of oil (I used vegetable)
1/2 a ripe tomato
2 handfuls of lettuce, shredded
2 medium size halibut fillets
1/2 cup of flour
salt and pepper to taste

Heat the butter and oil in a large pan over medium heat. Trim the skin from the halibut and cut into thin strips. Combine the flour, salt and pepper in bowl. Add halibut into the bowl turning to coat until all sides of the halibut are covered with the flour mixture. Add to the pan and cook a couple minutes on each side until browned. While the halibut cooks, prep and tomato and lettuce and place in separate bowls. Heat the tortillas in the microwave by layering a paper towel between each.

Place fillings on the table so everyone can make the tacos according to their liking. Enjoy!

 

 

This entry was posted in Fish and Seafood and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

