Cookies n’ Cream Cupcakes

I have finally broken out of my baking rut! I have been feeling so uninspired lately that even the most amazing looking baked goods were not doing a thing for me. Usually I would never pass up the opportunity to create some deliciousness, especially something chocolatey, but for some reason during the last few weeks I have been unable to muster up the energy. Thank goodness that’s over! I think I can say without a doubt that this had everything to do with my renewed baking spirit. Seriously, did you see it? There are no words to describe the effect it had on me. Simply amazing. The one thing that stuck with me the most however, was the fact that I cannot remember the last time I had an Oreo cookie. And so I needed to have one immediately. Like walk down to the store at the moment to buy a bag immediately. I was good though, I did only have one. I know, I know such restraint. Until today. When  decided to make cupcakes out of the rest of them and then eat said cupcakes. Whoever created these was a genius, and I strongly suggest you make them.

Cookies n’ Cream Cupcakes
Adapted from Bakergirl Creations

Cupcakes
2 1/3 cups of flour
1 cup of cocoa powder, sifted
1 1/2 tsp of baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup of butter, at room temp.
2 cups of brown sugar
2 tsp of vanilla
4 eggs
1 1/2 cups of buttermilk (I made buttermilk by using just under 1 1/2 cups of milk and stirring in 1 1/2 tbsp of vinegar and letting it sit for about 5 minutes)

Frosting
2 cups of whipping cream
6 tbsp of icing sugar
1 tsp of vanilla
7 Oreos + 6 Oreos

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line muffin tin with paper liners. Mix together the flour through salt and set aside. In an electric mixer cream the butter until smooth. Add the brown sugar a little at a time and beat until smooth. Mix in vanilla. Add the eggs one at a time and mix well. Alternate adding the flour mixture with the milk. Beginning and ending with the flour and beat until smooth. Distribute the batter evenly into the paper liners. Bake for 17-19 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes and then remove cupcakes to a wire rack. While the cupcakes are cooling, break up 7 Oreos a little bit and place them in a blender. Blend until cookies are finely crumbled (about 1/2 a cup). Cut the remaining 6 cookies in half with a sharp knife (for the top of the cupcakes)

Once the cupcakes are completely cool begin to make the frosting. In an electric mixture, add the whipping cream, icing sugar and vanilla and beat on high until stiff. I attempted to make my cupcakes pretty by using a piping bag for the frosting but that failed miserably because the cookie crumbs kept clogging the hole. I resorted to spooning the frosting on top and gently spreading it around and they looked pretty darn good to me. Finally, top each cupcake with half an Oreo.

Note: After filling 12 liners I still had quite a bit of batter left so I made a small cake in a loaf pan. But of course you could make another 4-5 cupcakes.

This entry was posted in (Cup)Cakes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

