Lemon Ricotta Pancakes with Blueberries

Breakfast is the most important meal of day and luckily for me, it’s also my favorite. I’m not sure if it’s because I love all breakfast foods like waffles, pancakes, eggs, toast, and cereal (I would eat cereal for every meal for the rest of my life if I could), or if it’s because I’m a terrible person when I’m hungry. And I’m always hungry when I wake up in the morning. So I prefer to be healthy and happy by eating my breakfast. Not to mention sparing those close to me in the morning from random acts of unkindness. I do not like to be unkind.

Because I am a huge fan of breakfast, I like to make something special on the weekends when I have the time. This weekend I decided to make Lemon Ricotta Pancakes. I first had these at Rebar (a fantastic heath food restaurant downtown Victoria), and had to recreate them again at home. Blueberries are just starting to come into season now too, so they aren’t even outrageously expensive anymore, bonus! And I am also now hooked on ricotta, it’s delish and I will certainly be finding more ways to use it.

Lemon Ricotta Pancakes with Blueberries
Adapted from Canadian Living

1 1/2 cups of flour
1 tbsp of sugar
1 tbsp of baking powder
1/2 tsp of salt
1/2 cup of ricotta cheese
1 egg
1 1/2 cups of milk
1/4 cup of butter, melted
2 tsp grated lemon rind
1 cup of blueberries, washed and dried

In a large bowl combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. In another bowl add ricotta, egg, milk, butter, and lemon rind. I melted the butter first and added it to this mixture last so it has a chance to cool slightly. The original recipe also said to press ricotta through a fine sieve before adding it. Next time I won’t waste my time doing it because only a few drops of moisture came out of it. It may depend on the brand so if you find the ricotta you are using really wet then I would do it. Otherwise don’t bother because I don’t think it would effect the consistency of the batter. Add wet ingredients to the dry and mix gently to combine. Fold in the blueberries.

Heat a large pan over medium heat with a non-stick spray. Use a 1/4 or 1/3 cup (depending if you want the pancakes larger or smaller) to scoop batter into the pan. Cook until the bubbles on top pop, about 2-3 minutes. Flip and cook another 2 minutes until browned on the bottom and cooked through. I topped my pancakes with bit of vanilla yogurt and blackberry syrup. Amazing!


This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

