Chicken with Red Wine Sauce

“This is the best sauce you have ever made, actually it’s the best sauce anyone has EVER made!” Yep, that comment refers to this evenings dinner. I initially choose this recipe so I could use my fantastic little frozen wine cubes that I made. However, I got too distracted by my prep work and the bottle of red I had just opened to enjoy myself, that I completely forgot! Though I won’t mind having to find another recipe with red wine as an ingredient because who wouldn’t want to include red wine in their daily lives more often? And if another recipes comes even remotely close to how delicious this chicken was, I’m all for it!

In addition to the chicken, I baked polenta (its my favorite thing at the moment) and topped it with a sprinkle of mozzarella. I then added some sauteed mushrooms on top to melt the cheese. The chicken was so easy and great recipe to use if your thinking of something to make for guests.

Chicken with Red Wine Sauce
Adapted from Allrecipes.com

1 tbsp of olive oil
2 garlic cloves, minced
4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
1 tsp of paprika
1/2 cup of brown sugar
1/2 cup of red wine
1/2 cup of chicken stock
2 small spoonfuls of cornstarch
salt and pepper to taste

Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Season chicken with salt and pepper to desired taste. Place chicken in skillet about 10 minutes on each side until browned and cooked through. Add the garlic for the last few minutes. The original recipe said to add it before the chicken, but I found that it was pretty much burnt by the time the chicken was ready, so I will add it near the end next time. Sprinkle chicken with paprika and brown sugar. Add the red wine and chicken stock to the skillet. Cover and let simmer for about 15 minutes. Turn the chicken every few minutes or so while cooking. If you have a baster use that. Remove the lid and add the corn starch. Using a whisk, stir vigorously to avoid clumps. Return to a simmer and let thicken.

This entry was posted in Poultry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

