Fettuccine Alfredo

The Times Colonist 1ok is now less than a week away. So I, and I’m sure the other 15,000 people taking part, are slowing starting to get mentally prepared for the big race. Because hopefully (unlike me), they have already done the physical preparing, you know, that whole training thing. Last year I trained so much for the 10k (I think because breakfast was on the line), and this year I could not find the same kind of motivation. But I will blame the weather. And seeing as Spring has still failed to be reliable I think it’s pretty reasonable.

Thinking further about what I did last year to prepare for the race, I realized there was some serious carb-loading that was going on the night before… ahh carb loading. I don’t usually eat a lot of pasta so when I do its always a nice treat. With pasta on my mind I decided to make Fettuccine Alfredo for dinner. Last night. With something like that racking my brain I was obviously unable to wait until Saturday. But if I have to have pasta twice in one week whose counting? And if your looking for something to make before the race, try this. It was so good and only took half an hour from start to finish. With the help of my assistant of course.

Fettuccine Alfredo
Adapted from The Best of Chef at Home

1 454g package of fettuccine (next time I would use a bit less to make it more saucy)
1/4 cup of butter
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 cup of 33% heavy cream
1 cup of parmesan, grated
1/4 tsp of nutmeg
salt to taste
pepper to taste

Optional:
2 cups of broccoli, diced into small pieces
1 1/2 cups of fresh prawns, shelled

You could also add mushrooms or other vegetables with grilled chicken. Whatever you have hanging around, really.

Boil a large pot of salted water. Add the fettuccine and cook according to directions. In the meantime, peel the prawns and prep the broccoli. In a small sauce pan, melt the butter over medium heat. Add the garlic and saute a couple minutes until fragrant. Add the cream and bring to a simmer. Mix in the parmesan, nutmeg, salt and pepper, heat through. In the last few minutes of cooking time for the pasta, add the prawns and broccoli. Drain, and toss the cooked pasta and prawns well with the Alfredo sauce. See? Easy!

I also made some garlic bread by mixing 1 minced garlic clove with enough butter for 3 pieces of whole wheat bread. I put a wire rack on a baking sheet so the bread wouldn’t get moist on the bottom. Toast under the broiler until browned.

This entry was posted in Pasta and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

