My Boyfriends Burgers

Now don’t let the name fool you. Although I’m sure he would like to take credit for these mountainous masterpieces, he cannot. Granted, though, they were his idea.  Let me tell you how: Walking home from the gym last night my boyfriend said he wanted a burger. Me, jumping at the opportunity said “OH! Well you can make them for me tomorrow night for dinner!” He saw right through that. Him: “but you make the BEST burgers, I could never make them as good as you.” Boosting my ego much?  It worked. With an inflated head I told him I would make them with any of the fixings of a gourmet burger he wanted. He decided on mozzarella, mushrooms, and bacon, all essential for the making of these masterpieces. Seriously, they were so delicious. Although by the end of it I had pretty much dirtied every pan I own and every inch of counter space was occupied (not that there’s too much of that anyways), I would do it all again tomorrow… Except my arteries may not appreciate it, so scratch that.

My Boyfriends Burgers
Adapted from The Best of Chef at Home

1 lb of extra lean ground beef (this made 4  quarter lb burgers, next time I would make them half lb-ish)
2 gloves of garlic, minced
1 tbsp of soy sauce
1 tbsp of Worcestershire sauce
A sprinkle of black pepper
5 large mushroom, sliced
4 slices of bacon
Mozzarella
4 soft buns
And whatever other topping you may want (lettuce, tomato, etc.)

Mix the ground beef through black pepper in a large bowl (I used my hands because I found it works a lot better). Form into 4 even sized burgers. Make a shallow indent in the center of each burger. This ensure your burgers cook evenly, and will disappear while cooking.

Give the bacon a 5 minute head start in a frying pan on med-high heat. Preheat 2 more pans, one for the mushroom (medium) and one for the burgers (med-high). If your lucky enough to have a BBQ, use that! Once heated, cook the burgers for a few minutes before starting the mushrooms. Of course your cooking times may vary depending on how you prefer your burgers and bacon. I cooked the burgers for about 7 minutes a side. Once the burgers were cooked through I put on a small coat of BBQ sauce and the mozza on to melt. While melting, prep your buns. Finally, when everything is cooked to your satisfaction, top buns with burgers, mushroom, and bacon. The result: Pure bliss.

This entry was posted in Meat and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

